Books Frontpage Mary Barton
  • 18,45 USD

  • * Free shipping to US.


  • In stock
    • Unit(s)
    • Comprar
    • ESTIMATED DELIVERY DATE 10/02/2020

Features:

  • Pages: 480
  • Format: 12,7x1,8x19,30 cm
  • Edition: Reissue
  • Language: Castellano.
  • Binding: Tapa blanda o Bolsillo.
  • Weight: 0,33 kg.
  • Editorial: OXFORD UNIV. PRESS ESPAÑA
  • Mary Barton

  • 9780199538355
  • Author: Elizabeth Gaskell [Autor]

  • Set in Manchester in the 1840s, Mary Barton depicts the effects of economic and physical hardship upon the city's working-class community. Paralleling the novel's treatment of the relationship between masters and men, the suffering of the poor, and the workmen's angry response, is the story of Mary herself--a factory-worker's daughter who attracts the attentions of the mill-owner's son, who becomes caught up in the violence of class conflict when a brutal murder forces her to confront her true feelings and allegiances.;This new edition reproduces the last edition of the novel supervised by Gaskell. The introduction provides historical and biographical context to the novel, a survey of critical responses to Mary Barton, and argues that Gaskell was chiefly concerned with the importance of communication as a means of healing breaches between people. In addition, the book contains an up-to-date critical biography, revised notes and appendixes that include Gaskell's rough draft and outline of the novel's conclusion.;This is Elizabeth Gaskell at her best, and Shirley Foster's edition is both sagacious and formally accurate. The appendices are invaluable and the explanatory notes are relevant without being obtrusive. A must for readers of Mary Barton. Dr. Antonio Ballesteros-Gonzalez, Universidad de Castilla-La Mancha
  • 18,45 USD

  • * Free shipping to US.


  • In stock

Other books by Elizabeth Gaskell:

Other books in the subject Didáctica: Lengua Inglesa Y Alfabetización: